navbar

About the WDCC

Communications Working Group

The objectives of the Working Group are to: (1) identify and use existing drought-related information networks, and suggest complementary means of communication, where appropriate; (2) facilitate the exchange and dissemination of drought-related information, and act as a clearinghouse for those documents (where appropriate); (3) provide a forum for feedback and evaluation of information, programs, and services; and (4) provide an active communication outreach service for the Council through press releases and the preparation of articles for publication. Read more about the Communications working group in the '97-98 work plan.

Ane Deister, Co-Chair, Communications Working Group
Metropolitan Water District of Southern California
PO Box 54153
Los Angeles, CA 90053-0153
phone: (213) 217-6144
fax: (213) 217-6950
e-mail: adeister@mwd.dst.ca.us

Terry Canup
Department of Ag Communications
P.O.Box 30003
MSC 3AI
Las Cruces, NM 88003-8003
phone: (505) 646-2701
fax: (505) 646-2702
e-mail: tcanup@nmsu.edu

Alice Darilek
Water Conservation Program
New Mexico State Engineer Office
230 West Manhattan Ave.
Santa Fe, NM 87504
phone: (505) 827-3879
fax: (505) 827-4692
e-mail: adarilek@seo.state.nm.us

Karen Deike, Communications Director
Western Governors' Association
600 17th St.
Suite 1705, South Tower
Denver, CO 80202-5452
phone: (303) 623-9378
fax: (303) 534-7309
e-mail: kdeike@westgov.org

Wayne Fairley (principal) and Charles Barnes (alternate)
FEMA Region 6
RR-OP
800 North Loop 288
Denton TX 76201
Wayne's phone: (940) 898-5145
Charles' phone: (940) 898-5281
Wayne's e-mail: wayne.fairley@fema.gov
Charles' e-mail: charles.barnes@fema.gov

Mary Helen Follingstad
Regional Water Planner
Interstate Stream Commission
P.O. Box 25102
Santa Fe, NM 87504-5102
phone: (505) 827-6167
fax: (505) 827-6168
e-mail: Follingstad_Maryhelen@seo.state.nm.us

Liz Gardener
Conservation Officer
Denver Water
1600 W. 12th Avenue
Denver, CO 80254-3412
phone: (303) 628-6325
fax: (303) 628-6349
e-mail: evg@water.denver.co.gov

Tom Gentle
Extension & Station Communications
422 Kerr Admin. Bldg.
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR 97331-2119
phone: (541) 737-0801
fax: (541) 737-0817
e-mail: gentlet@ccmail.orst.edu

Maxine Namoki, Public Relations Director
Hopi Tribe
P.O. Box 123
Kykotsmovi, AZ 86039
phone: (520) 734-2441, ext. 106, or 734-3106
e-mail: maxine.Namoki@hopi.nsn.us

Arlene Post
Customer Service and Public Affairs Manager
Las Virgenes Municipal Water District
4232 Las Virgenes Road
Calabasas, CA 91302-1994
phone: (818) 251-2100
fax: (818) 251-2109
http://www.LVMWD.com

Elaine Simonson, Lead Public Affairs Specialist
U.S. Department of Interior
Bureau of Reclamation
Program Analysis Office
Denver Federal Center
Building 67
P.O. Box 25007 (D-5010)
Denver, CO 80225
phone: (303) 445-3139
fax: (303) 445-6465
e-mail: ESIMONSON@do.usbr.gov

Kelly Smith
National Drought Mitigation Center
106 L.W. Chase Hall
University of Nebraska
Lincoln, NE 68583-0749
phone: (402) 472-3373
fax: (402) 472-6614
e-mail: khsmith@enso.unl.edu

Marilu Trainor
NOAA-National Weather Service
125 South State Street
Salt Lake City, UT 84138-1102
phone: (801) 524-5692, ext. 226
fax: (801) 524-6767
e-mail: marilu.trainor@noaa.gov

Updated March 27, 2003

Back to the WDCC Home Page | About the WDCC | Info Products | What's New | Related Web Sites

Copyright 1998, Western Drought Coordination Council