navbar

About the WDCC

Monitoring, Assessment and Prediction Working Group

The goal of the Working Group is to develop a drought monitoring system that provides timely recognition of the occurrence of drought to local, state, tribal, and federal officials responsible for implementing drought response measures. Read more about the MAP group in the '97-98 work plan.

Tom McKee, Co-Chair
State Climatologist, Colorado Climate Center
Colorado State University, Department of Atmospheric Science
Ft. Collins, CO 80525-1371
phone: (970) 491-8545
fax: (970) 491-8449
e-mail: tom@ccc.atmos.colostate.edu

Garry Schaefer, Co-Chair
USDA/NRCS
Water & Climate Center
101 SW Main Street, Suite 1600
Portland, OR 97204-3224
phone: (503) 414-3068
fax: (503) 414-3101
e-mail: gschaefer@wcc.nrcs.usda.gov

Robert Becker
Department of Water Resources
P.O. Box 678
Ft. Defiance, AZ 86504
phone: (520) 729-4137
fax: (520) 729-4126
e-mail:

Paul Doraiswamy
USDA/ARS
Remote Sensing and Modeling Lab
Beltsvill, MD 20705
phone: (301) 504-6576
fax: (301) 504-5031
e-mail: paul@rsrlimg.arsusda.gov

Ned Guttman
National Climatic Data Center
151 Patton Ave.
Asheville, NC 28801-5001
phone: (828) 271-4479
fax: (828) 271-4328
e-mail: nguttman@ncdc.noaa.gov

Jim Laver
Climate Prediction Center, Department of Commerce
W/NP5, WWBG, Room 800
4700 Silver Hill Road
Mail Stop 800
Washington, DC 20233-9910
phone: (301) 763-8000, ext. 7500
fax: (301) 763-8125
e-mail: jim.laver@noaa.gov

Peter L. Palmer
AgriMet Program Coordinator
USBR Pacific NW Region
Boise, ID
phone: (208) 378-5283
fax: (208) 378-5305
e-mail: ppalmer@pn.usbr.gov

Randy Parker
USGS Surface Water Representative
USGS/WRD, Building 53, Mail Stop 415
Denver Federal Center
Lakewood, CO 80225-0046
phone: (303) 236-4882 ext. 295
fax: (303) 236-4912
e-mail: rsparker@usgs.gov

Kelly Redmond, Regional Climatologist
Western Regional Climate Center
PO Box 60220
Reno, NV 89506 -0220
phone: (702) 677-3139
fax: (702) 677-3243
e-mail: krwrcc@sage.dri.edu

Brad Rippey & Bob Stefanski
USDA/WAOB
Rm 5137
1400 Independence Ave SW
Washington, DC 20250-3812
phone: (202) 720-3361 (Bob Stefanski)
(202) 720-1444 (Brad Rippey)
fax: (202) 690-1805
e-mail: rstefanski@oce.usda.gov
brippey@oce.usda.gov

Gregg Rishel
National Weather Service, West Region
125 South State St., Room 1311
Salt Lake City, UT 84137
phone: (801) 524-5137
fax: (810) 524-6767
e-mail: Gregg.Rishel@noaa.gov

Mark Svoboda
National Drought Mitigation Center
107 LW Chase Hall
Lincoln, NE 68583-0749
phone: (402) 472-8238
fax: (402) 472-6614
e-mail: msvoboda@enso.unl.edu

Rich Tinker
Climate Prediction Center
W/NP53, WWBG, Room 800
Washington, DC 20233-9910
phone: (301) 763-8000, ext. 7568
fax: (301) 763-8125
e-mail: rich.tinker@noaa.gov

Updated April 28, 1999

Back to the WDCC Home Page | About the WDCC | Info Products | What's New | Related Web Sites

Copyright 1998, 1999 Western Drought Coordination Council