navbar

About the WDCC

Preparedness and Mitigation Working Group

This Working Group will concentrate on short- and long-term management and policy issues that are intended to reduce the economic, social, and environmental impacts (i.e. vulnerability) of drought in the West. The Working Group will identify preparedness actions, policies, and mitigation options that will facilitate this process and will work cooperatively with localities, states, Indian tribes, and federal agencies. The Working Group will build on the drought assessment, response, and planning experiences in western states, localities, and federal agencies, and will seek to identify new and innovative solutions to drought and water management issues. The Working Group will promote drought contingency planning, emphasizing a more proactive, anticipatory approach to drought management in the region. Read more about Preparedness and Mitigation Working Group in the '97-98 work plan.

Tom Phillips, Co-Chair, Preparedness and Mitigation Working Group
Bureau of Reclamation
1848 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20240
phone: (202) 208-7587
fax: (202) 208-3484
e-mail: tphillips@usbr.gov

John Rokich, Co-Chair, Preparedness and Mitigation Working Group
Utah Division of Comprehensive Emergency Management
1110 State Office Building
P.O. Box 141710
Salt Lake City 84114-1710
phone: (801) 538-3788
fax: (801) 538-3770
e-mail: pscem.jrokich@state.ut.us

Michael Hayes
National Drought Mitigation Center
239 L.W. Chase Hall
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincln, NE 68583-0749
phone: (402) 472-4271
fax: (402) 472-6614
e-mail: mhayes@enso.unl.edu

Steve Jones
Bureau of Reclamation
P.O. Box 61470
Boulder City, NV 89006-1470
phone: (702) 293-8042
fax: (702) 293-8042
e-mail: sjones@lc.usbr.gov

Cody Knutson
National Drought Mitigation Center
239 L.W. Chase Hall
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln, NE 68583-0749
phone: (402) 472-9954
fax: (402) 472-6614
e-mail: cknutson@enso.unl.edu

Dr. Upmanu Lall, Associate Director
Utah Water Research Laboratory
Utah State University
Logan, UT 84322-8200
phone: (453) 797-3184
fax: (453) 797-3663
e-mail: ulall@cc.usu.edu

Dan McGowan, Planning Bureau Chief
Disaster and Emergency Services
State of Montana
1100 N. Main
P.O. Box 4789
Helena, MT 59604
phone: (406) 444-6911
e-mail: dmcgowan@mt.gov

Marty Moore
Eastern Arizona Counties
P.O. Box 238
St. Johns, AZ 85936
phone: (520) 337-4364, ext. 426
fax: (520) 337-2062
e-mail: mmoore@co.apache.az.us

Barry Norris
Oregon Water Resources Dept.
158 12th St., NE
Salem, OR 97310
phone: (503) 378-8455, ext. 246
fax: (503) 378-2496
e-mail: barry.f.norris@state.or.us

Marco Rivera
Tohono O'Odham Nation
P.O. Box 837
Sells, AZ 85634
phone: (520) 383-4785
fax: (520) 383-3379

Ann Seymour, Water Conservation Specialist
Colorado Springs Utilities
Water Resources Department
2855 Mesa Road
Colorado Springs, CO 80919
phone: (719) 448-4556
fax: (719) 448-4599
e-mail: aseymour@csu.org

Beverly Suderman, Water Program Manager
Water Resources Program
The Hopi Tribe
P.O. Box 123
Kykotsmovi, AZ 86039
phone: (520) 734-2441, ext. 626
fax: (520) 734-9339
e-mail: BSuderman@Hopi.nsn.us

Tony Willardson
Western States Water Council
Creekview Plaza, Suite A-201
942 E. 7145 South
Midvale, UT 84047
phone: (801) 561-5300
fax: (801) 255-9642
e-mail: nswswcpo.tony@state.ut.us

Updated September 14, 1998

Back to the WDCC Home Page | About the WDCC | Info Products | What's New | Related Web Sites

Copyright 1998, Western Drought Coordination Council