navbar

About the WDCC

Steering Group

The Steering Group's functions include securing resources to carry out the work of the Council; coordinating the development, revision, and implementation of the annual Work Plan by the Working Groups; organizing subgroups as necessary to carry out the day-to-day activities of the Council; acting as liaison between the Council and the Working Groups; and providing an annual report to the Council regarding progress in implementing the Work Plan. Read more about the Steering Group in the '97-98 work plan.

Al Peterlin, Chief Meteorologist, Steering Group Co-Chair
US Department of Agriculture
1400 Independence Avenue SW
Room 5143 South Building
Washington, DC 20250
phone: (202) 720-8651
fax: (202) 720-4043
e-mail: apeterlin@mailoce.oce.usda.gov

Rupert Alden, Tribal Council Member
San Carlos Apache Tribe
P.O. Box O
San Carlos, AZ 85550
phone: (520) 475-2361
fax: (520) 475-2567

Roseann Gonzales
Policy Analyst/Drought Program Coordinator
Bureau of Reclamation, D-5010
PO Box 25007
Denver, CO 80225-0007
phone: (303) 445-2787
fax: (303) 445-6465
e-mail: rgonzales@do.usbr.gov

Ron Speakthunder
Natural Resources Committee Chairman
Fort Belknap Community Council
RR1, Box 66
Harlem, MT 59526
phone: (406) 353-2205
fax: (406) 353-2797

Charles W. Blackwell
Chickasaw Nation Ambassador to the United States of America
230 E. Capitol St. NE
Washington, DC 20003
phone: (202) 546-6610
fax: (202) 546-6665
e-mail: nadg@erols.com

Ronald W. Cattany, Deputy Director
Colorado Department of Natural Resources
1313 Sherman Street, Room 718
Denver, CO 80203
phone: (303) 866-3556

Raymond P. Chatham, Director
Disaster Area 3
Small Business Administration
4400 Amon Carter Blvd, Suite 102
Ft. Worth, TX 76155-2608
phone: (817) 885-7600
fax: (817) 885-7616
e-mail: raymond.chatham@sba.gov
http://www.sba.gov/disaster

John Hofmann, Executive Assistant to the Commissioner
Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission
PO Box 13087
Austin, TX 78711
phone: (512) 239-5510
fax: (512) 239-5533
e-mail: jhofmann@tnrcc.state.tx.us

Ants Leetmaa
National Center for Environmental Prediction
Department of Commerce
5200 Auth Road, Room 807
Camp Springs, MD 20746
phone: (301) 763-8167, ext. 7553
fax: (301) 763-8125
Ants.Leetmaa@noaa.gov

Marty Moore
National Association of Counties Organization (NACO)
Apache County
PO Box 238
St. Johns, AZ 85936
phone: (520) 337-4364
fax: (520) 337-2062
e-mail: mmoore@co.apache.az.us

Bruce A. Smith
Assistant for Interagency and International Affairs
Department of the Army
Office, Assistant Secretary (Civil Works)
Washington, D.C. 20310-0108
phone: (703) 695-7127
fax: (703) 697-3366
e-mail: bruce.smith@usace.army.mil

Tom Phillips, Co-Chair, Preparedness and Mitigation Working Group
Bureau of Reclamation
1848 C Street NW
Washington, DC 20240
phone: (202) 208-7587
fax: (202) 208-3484
e-mail: tphillips@usbr.gov

John Rokich, Co-Chair, Preparedness and Mitigation Working Group
Utah Division of Comprehensive Emergency Management
1110 State Office Building
P.O. Box 141710
Salt Lake City 84114-1710
phone: (801) 538-3788
fax: (801) 538-3770
e-mail: pscem.jrokich@state.ut.us

Tom McKee, Co-Chair, Monitoring, Assessment and Prediction Working Group
Colorado Climate Center, Colorado State University
Department of Atmospheric Science
Ft. Collins, CO 80525-1371
phone: (970) 491-8545
fax: (970) 491-8449
e-mail: tom@ulysses.atmos.colostate.edu

Garry Schaefer, Co-Chair, Monitoring, Assessment, and Prediction Working Group
USDA/NRCS
Water and Climate Center
101 SW Main Street, Suite 1600
Portland, OR 97204-3224
phone: (503) 414-3068
fax: (503) 414-3101
e-mail: gschaefer@wcc.nrcs.usda.gov

Fred Sibley, Co-Chair, Response Working Group
Office of Emergency Management
Colorado Department of Local Affairs
Camp George West
15075 S. Golden Road
Golden, CO 80401-3979
phone: (303) 273-1622
fax: (303) 273-1795
e-mail: fred.sibley@state.co.us

Leona Dittus, Co-Chair, Response Working Group
USDA/Farm Service Agency
STOP 0526
1400 Independence Ave SW
Washington, DC 20250-0526
phone: (202) 720-3168
fax: (202) 720-9688
e-mail: ldittus@wdc.fsa.usda.gov

Ane Deister, Co-Chair, Communications Working Group
Metropolitan Water District of Southern California
PO Box 54153
Los Angeles, CA 90053-0153
phone: (213) 217-6144
fax: (213) 217-6950
e-mail: adeister@mwd.dst.ca.us

Updated April 28, 1999

Back to the WDCC Home Page | About the WDCC | Info Products | What's New | Related Web Sites

Copyright 1998, 1999 Western Drought Coordination Council